Supporting Children Through Divorce
What is "Supporting Children Through Divorce"?
Supporting Children Through Divorce is a four-hour educational program designed to help parents focus on the needs of their children during and after divorce and separation.
- Effects of divorce on children
- How children react to divorce
- What children need to do to adjust
- How parents can help
- Dealing with conflict without involving children
- New family structures
- When children are at risk
- How to get help
The class is open to anyone interested, including people already divorced or thinking about separation, extended family members and friends. This class is not meant to serve as counseling, therapy, or ministry. Many parents who have taken the class recommend attending the class as early as possible in the separation or divorce process.
As required by Superior Court for Chelan and Douglas Counties
For more information, contact: WSU Chelan County Extension (509) 667-6540.
Meets Court Requirements
Cost and Registration
The cost is $40 per person. (You may ask for a court order reducing or waiving the class fee. If you already have a signed order waiving the Clerk’s filing fee, the class is free.)
To sign up for a class, bring or mail the attached registration form with payment to either the Chelan County or Douglas County Clerk's Office. Payment is non-refundable.
Pre-registration and advance payment is required. Payment will not be accepted at the class.
2019 Where Will Classes Be Held?
Washington State University Extension
400 Washinton St
(Building is 400 Washington Street and 400 Douglas Street. Enter on street level at 400 Douglas St)
|Classes in English||Classes in Spanish|
To submit this form by mail.
Make a cashier's check, money order or personal check payable to the Chelan or Douglas County Clerk of Court. Payment is non-refundable. To register by mail, send this mail-registration form with payment to:
Chelan County Clerk,
350 Orondo Ave Suite 501
Wenatchee, WA 98801
Online Registration Form
- Complete the online registration form and press submit.
- Wait 10 minutes call (509) 667-6380 to pay by debit or credit card. If your fees have been waived you must still call to register for the class.
Class fee per person: $40 (You may ask for a court order reducing or waiving the class fee. If you already have a signed order waiving the Clerk’s filing fee, the class is free.)
SESSIONS BEGIN ON TIME!
Please arrive 15 to 30 minutes early to sign in so you will receive credit for your attendance. Full attendance is required to comply with the Court's mandate, and credit will NOT be given for those who arrive late and/or leave early.
CHILD CARE IS NOT PROVIDED
Please make your own child care arrangements. Children will not be allowed to attend the class.
Security of participants is of primary concern. You will not be admitted to class if you are carrying a weapon or are under the influence of drugs or alcohol. You will be asked to leave class if you exhibit behavior that is disruptive or threatening to class members or class leaders.
This program is conducted by Washington State University Chelan/Douglas County Extension, licensed provider of the Families First Children Cope With Divorce® Program. All instructors are trained.
Past Participants Have Said.
"Good class, helpful as it was."
"Liked that the class was informative & casual. Well done."
“What kinds of support kids need at different ages."
"How to approach my child and understand what they want & need."
“I have the right..
To be told that my mother and father will always love me.
To be told that the break-up is not my fault.
To have decisions about me based on what is in my best interest and not on my parents’ hurt feelings or needs. . .”
WSU Extension programs and employment are available to all without discrimination. Persons with a disability requiring special accommodations while participating in this program may call WSU Chelan County Extension at (509) 667-6540 at least 10 days before the program.
We encourage you to enhance your classroom learning on this free website: http://www.UpToParents.org
The Parents Corner features video, audio and/or worksheet components to four steps, and or log in for a more personalized set of exercises.
Past participants recommend taking this class as early as possible in the divorce process.