Give a weed an inch and it will take a yard.
by Unknown

Our Mission Statement

Protect and preserve the agricultural lands and natural resources of the county from the degrading effects of invasive noxious weeds and to promote the control of invading noxious weeds through best management practices with a focus on education, prevention, technical assistance and control of noxious weeds through voluntary compliance with RCW 17.10 and WAC 16-750

What We Do

By institution and authority of the Chelan County Commissioners, all lands within the County, except Indian and Federal lands, are subject to the direction of the Chelan County Noxious Weed Control Board with respect to control of listed noxious weeds.

The Board carries out the mandates of the State Weed Control Law, Chapter 17.10.RCW.  The Office Staff implement the law through education and outreach to all private landowners.

The noxious weed program provides many services to County residents, including:

  • Plant identification
  • Cost share (future)
  • Informational publications and workshops
  • Conducts and/or gathers research on the best methods for control or eradication
  • Facilitates weed management efforts by working with volunteer and landowner groups
  • Annual roadside surveys for early detection.


A state law passed in 1969 mandated that all counties in Washington have a program to combat noxious weeds.

The original structure of the board included “five voting members, each from a separate district of the county, and one non-voting member, who shall be a county extension agent, to serve on the Noxious Weed Board.” In 2008 the structure was reorganized. Resolution No. 2008-95 created a board membership of “three districts as well as two members at large to better serve the needs of the County and its citizens. The current Chelan County Weed Board is a five member board, with three members from the Commission Districts within the County, and two at large positions from Chelan County PUD District Position A & B with all other formation of the districts and its bylaws to remain in force.”